Back to all articles

There Are 5 Species of Kiwi.

There are 5 species of kiwi, a shy, mostly nocturnal bird native to New Zealand. They are: the Brown Kiwi, the Little Spotted Kiwi, the Great Spotted Kiwi, the Rowi, and the Tokoeka. Notably, the Little Spotted Kiwi is a conservation success story; the species went from 5 members in the early 20th century to around 1,200 individuals today thanks to conservation efforts and a sanctuary established on Kapiti Island.

Share this article